Nathaniel MG Cup - Format and History

The Nathaniel MG Cup has been running since the JD Welsh Premier League was formed in 1992-93.

In the first twenty years of the competition, the format alternated between straight knockout, and a group stage followed by knockout.

In order to reinvent the competition after the top flight was reduced to twelve, teams from the two feeder leagues were invited into the competition from the 2012/13 season. Four sides each from the Huws Gray Alliance and Welsh League D1 were initially invited in, and that has since grown to six guaranteed from each division.

In 2014/15, the competition grew further with the inclusion of four wildcard entries from teams which directly applied to the League for entry. This format has remained ever since.

Current Format

The current format for the 2018/19 season sees 28 teams enter the competition. 24 will enter at the First Round, with the four semi-finalists from 2017-18 given byes into the Second Round.

The competition draw is regionalised in Rounds 1, 2 and the Quarter-Finals. Teams will be split into northern and southern groups according to geographical distribution, and may be subdivided further between east and west regions in early rounds. Ties in each of these three rounds will be played midweek.

The Semi-Final draw will be open, with ties played over the weekend of 24/25 November 2018.

The Final will then take place on Saturday 19 January 2019.

A full list of finals and winners can be found below.

SeasonWinnerScoreRunner UpVenueAttendance
1992–93Afan Lido1-1 (4-3p)CaerswsPark Avenue, Aberystwyth750
1993–94Afan Lido1-0Bangor CityPark Avenue, Aberystwyth660
1994–95Llansantffraid FC2-1Ton PentreLatham Park, Newtown650
1995–96Connah's Quay Nomads1-0Ebbw ValeRecreation Ground, Caersws400
1996–97Barry Town2-2 (4-2p)Bangor CityPark Avenue, Aberystwyth623
1997-98Barry Town1-1 (5-4p)Bangor CityFarrar Road, Bangor652
1998-99Barry Town3-0Caernarfon TownPark Avenue, Aberystwyth507
1999-00Barry Town6-0Bangor CityPark Avenue, Aberystwyth450
2000-01Caersws2-0Barry TownPark Avenue, Aberystwyth733
2001-02Caersws2-1Cwmbran TownPark Avenue, Aberystwyth587
2002-03Rhyl2-2 (4-3p)Bangor CityBelle Vue, Rhyl831
2003-04Rhyl4-0Carmarthen TownLatham Park, Newtown525
2004-05Carmarthen Town2-0 (AET)RhylLatham Park, Newtown750
2005-06Total Network Solutions4-0Port Talbot TownPark Avenue, Aberystwyth358
2006-07Caersws1-1 (3-1p)RhylPark Avenue, Aberystwyth400
2007-08Llanelli2-0RhylLatham Park, Newtown510
2008-09The New Saints2-0Bangor CityLatham Park, Newtown555
2009-10The New Saints3-1RhylThe Airfield, Broughton375
2010-11Afan Lido4-3 (aet)LlanelliPark Avenue, Aberystwyth310
2011-12Afan Lido1-1 (3-2p)NewtownPark Avenue, Aberystwyth301
2012-13Carmarthen Town3-3 (3-1p)The New SaintsLatham Park, Newtown455
2013-14Carmarthen Town0-0 (3-1p)Bala TownPark Avenue, AberystwythTBC
2014-15The New Saints3-0Bala TownLatham Park, Newtown657
2015-16The New Saints2-0Denbigh TownMaesdu Park, Llandudno1158
2016-17The New Saints4-0Barry Town UnitedPark Avenue, Aberystwyth1,116
2017-18The New Saints1-0Cardiff MetPark Avenue, Aberystwyth906
2018-19Cardiff Met2-0Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGCJenner Park, Barry1503

Title Wins
The New Saints – 9
Barry Town United – 4
Afan Lido - 3
Caersws – 3
Carmarthen Town – 3
Rhyl – 2
Connah’s Quay Nomads – 1
Llanelli Town – 1
Cardiff Met - 1

Don't worry, we hate spam as much as you do. We will only send you the latest updates and anything we think you will enjoy reading about.

Hit enter to send your tweet

Go to Youtube Channel
WPL Preview: Bangor City v The New Saints 01/12/12