Date: Sat 13 Apr 2019

Saints crowned Champions for thirteenth time

4-0 win over Barry seals eighth title on the spin

The New Saints have won the 2018/19 JD Welsh Premier League.

Needing to beat Barry Town United at Jenner Park this evening, Scott Ruscoe's side won 4-0, with goals from Greg Draper, Jamie Mullan, Aeron Edwards and Jon Routledge.

The Saints started the game on the front foot, going in front after seven minutes. Ryan Brobbel lofted a ball forward into the Barry box, which Edwards nodded down for Draper to hit first time past Mike Lewis.

Brobbel came close to doubling the lead before the break, his free-kick from thirty yards smashing against the bar before being turned behind for a corner.

Barry responded after the break, but struggled to break down the visitors, and Saints took a two-goal lead with twenty minutes to play thanks to Mullan, who beat a challenge from Chris Hugh down the right before bursting into the box and firing low past Lewis.

Mullan turned provider for the third, after Saints moved the ball quickly from left to right, the winger floated in an inviting cross for Edwards, who headed home and all but wrapped up the win.

There was still time for one final goal in the last minute, Mullan again claiming the assist as he teed up Routledge to slot home from twelve yards.

Congratulations to Saints from all of us at the JDWPL.

Don't worry, we hate spam as much as you do. We will only send you the latest updates and anything we think you will enjoy reading about.

Hit enter to send your tweet

Go to Youtube Channel
WPL Preview: Bangor City v The New Saints 01/12/12