Date: Thu 04 Apr 2019

Airbus promotion confirmed after Wingmakers' awarded FAW Tier 1 Licence

Welsh League clubs Penybont and Haverfordwest also awarded Tier 1 Licence.

Airbus UK Broughton will play in the JD Welsh Premier League next season after the club was awarded the FAW Tier 1 Licence.

The Wingmakers sealed the Huws Gray Alliance title two weeks ago, and today’s decision confirms their return to the top flight of Welsh football after a two-season absence.

Airbus will be joined in the top flight by one of Penybont or Haverfordwest County, should they qualify for promotion through their league position, after the two Welsh League Division 1 clubs were also successful in their application for the Tier 1 Licence. Penybont currently have a twelve-point lead at the top of the division, and need a further eight points from their remaining seven games to secure the title and promotion.

The FAW released the following statement on its website this afternoon:

"The FAW Club Licensing First Instance Body has met today (4 April 2019) to consider UEFA and FAW Tier 1 applications for the 2019/20 season.

"The meeting took place at FAW HQ in Cardiff to assess and consider the twelve UEFA and seventeen FAW Tier 1 applications.

"Sixteen of the seventeen applications for a Tier 1 licence have been successful. This includes Airbus UK Broughton, Flint Town United and Rhyl of the Huws Gray Alliance League. Haverfordwest County and Penybont of the Nathaniel Cars Welsh Football League also achieved their Tier 1 licenses.

"As a result, Airbus UK’s promotion to the JD Welsh Premier League is confirmed and they will be joined by Haverfordwest or Penybont should they achieve it through their league position.

"Eleven of the current JD Welsh Premier League sides were awarded the Tier 1 Licence. Ten of the clubs also achieved a UEFA Licence.

"Clubs are assessed on the following criteria:

- Sporting: Youth & Coaching
- Infrastructure
- Legal
- Personnel & Administration
- Financial and Codes of Practice

"An FAW Tier 1 Licence is required for clubs to participate in the JD Welsh Premier League and for those clubs who qualify for European competitions, a UEFA Licence is also a pre-requisite.

"The Club Licensing system aims to assist the continual improvement and development of football clubs at the top level within Wales. Licensing is a transparent process that enables clubs to demonstrate to their stakeholders that they meet quality standards.

"Following today’s meeting, the independent First Instance Body has decided on the following:

FAW Tier 1 Licence and UEFA Licence for 2019/20 Season (10 clubs)

Aberystwyth Town
Bala Town
Barry Town United
Cardiff Met
Carmarthen Town
Cefn Druids
Connah’s Quay Nomads
The New Saints

FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2019/20 Season (6 clubs)

Airbus UK Broughton
Caernarfon Town
Flint Town United
Haverfordwest County

Refused FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2019/20 Season (1 club)

Llanelli Town

Withdrawn Applications (7 clubs)

Bangor City
Briton Ferry Llansawel
Buckley Town
Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC
Holywell Town
Prestatyn Town

"The Panel extended its congratulations to those clubs successful in attaining Tier 1 and UEFA licences.

"Those clubs who have been refused a Licence by the First Instance Body, have ten days in which to submit an appeal. Should an application of appeal be received by the FAW, an Appeals Body will meet in Cardiff on Thursday, 18 April 2019."

Don't worry, we hate spam as much as you do. We will only send you the latest updates and anything we think you will enjoy reading about.

Hit enter to send your tweet

Go to Youtube Channel
WPL Preview: Bangor City v The New Saints 01/12/12